It has been a while …

It has been quite a while since my last blog entry. Thee weeks ago I came down with a flu bug that knocked me down for almost two weeks. This in turn put more pressure on getting my school work done, marking and finishing of the Year 12 folio’s. It might just be coincidence, but I started getting sick when I stopped drinking coffee for a while. Now three weeks down the track and so much has happened.

Highlights from the past few weeks: Amazing wife taking care of me and giving me some time to recover. Having a very active toddler make sit hard to find some peace and quiet, but she took her out to various locations. My Year 12 History students have produced some amazing work over these last few weeks and I’m feeling incredibly proud of their achievements.  Also having to work extra hard to find work for  a student to pass high school and then getting him through has been rewarding. Not sure if he will appreciate it now, but hopefully one day he will realise. That is the nature of this profession that we make lasting changes in a students life and even though they do not acknowledge it at the time, they usually come to realise it as adults. 

Great chapel service on dedication by our school Chaplain this past week has resulted in further reflection. This is coupled with a blog post by Vicki Davies this weekend on making sure your priorities are in the right place. 

Struggles from these weeks: Being sick is not fun, and it just results in more pressure at work and not being around for the students. I’m not often sick, and when I am I really go down hard. It has been a long three weeks. 

I have also struggled dealing with some student apathy to their studies and poor quality work being completed. It sometimes hard to comprehend the difference in the commitment levels by students. I know that their are a range of factors at play, but some students are just completely disinterested in even trying. Another struggle is having a good student that has been consistent do poorly suddenly, and then having to break the news to them. It is really difficult when they look at you and they are disappointed in themselves. There is no clear answer and it just comes down to talking with them personally and find solutions together.

Future ideas: Very little time these past few weeks for Twitter and Blogging. I have found a number of great links this weekend that I will be exploring soon. Also the trailer for Lincoln – the Steven Spielberg movie – was released yesterday. It will be here at the end of January, and my year 12’s will be doing a unit with him as the focus in February. That means I might be able to look at an excursion to go watch this epic looking movie.

Also I’m looking at Evernote’s Going Paperless 30 day challenge and whether or not I can implement it first in my personal life and then in teaching. Less paper would make life so much easier and organised. It has already started, so I’ll be doing this in a different time period. Have a look at the challenge here – Going Paperless

 

Inspiration: The Team Hoyt story is inspirational and moving. Have a look here http://www.teamhoyt.com/index.html

Weblinks: www.edublogs.org as a platform for student blogging collaboration will be explored. Also www.awesomestories.com is an amazing resource tool for almost any topic. I also want to have a closer look at 500 Free Online Courses from Top Universities  link that I found on Twitter. 

Last week of term ahead before a well deserved break fro all the teachers and students.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

